Women’s swim team carry two more victories

Photo courtesy of Ramapo Athletics

Ramapo’s women’s swim team collected two wins on Saturday, Oct. 12 to open this year’s season as undefeated. The Roadrunners went up against Baruch College as well as Kean University in a conference match.

The first-place title in the 200-medley relay was secured by Ramapo with a time of 1:59.30. The team included sophomore Eliza Pluckhorn and freshmen Taylor Gray, Fiona Misiura and Olivia Davis. In addition to this victory, Pluckhorn won the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:05.50. 

Gray was alongside sophomore Madison Riccardi as they finished 1-2 in the 100-yard breaststroke with times of 1:12.65 and 1:18.32.

The victories did not end there for the Roadrunners. Misuria went on to obtain a first-place title in the 50-yard freestyle with a 26.72 finish. Freshman Kiersten Farrell also secured a first-place finish in the 100-yard freestyle with a 59.81 time, and sophomore Kiaranina Liwag maintained the first-place streak by placing first overall in the 50-yard backstroke with a time of 31.54.

Freshman Yara Hassan and junior Grace McCrone placed first and second respectively in the 50-yard freestyle, with times of 33.25 and 34.45. Freshman swimmer Carissa Campbell won with a time of 5:42.17 in the 500-yard freestyle. First and second place in the 100-yard butterfly were awarded to sophomores Abigael Coughlin (1:05.53) and Pamela Santos (1:05.81), their times milliseconds apart.

Gray shined again by winning first in the 100-yard IM with a time of 1:06.63, and sophomore Breanna Gleason closely followed in second at 1:09.94.

Kean University was defeated by the Roadrunners 78-35 in the first NJAC conference match of the season. While Baruch was also defeated 88-25, their match was non-conference action. 

Ramapo’s women’s swim team will be hosting their next match against Drew University next Saturday, Oct. 26 at 2 p.m. The match will be a non-conference game, and Drew’s women’s swimming and diving team currently holds a 0-1 record overall. Ramapo is currently undefeated.