Ramapo welcomes 2024 Hall of Fame class

For the first time since 2019, the Ramapo College Athletics Hall of Fame welcomed eight new members. Larysa Iwaskiw, Mike Jackson, Walker Larson, Jared Milligan, Anita Rogers, Brian Scantlebury, Todd Siben and the 2003 Ramapo softball team were each inducted into the hall on Friday night.

The dinner and ceremony, which took place at the Crowne Plaza in Suffern, welcomed family members, friends and teammates to watch the eight newest honorees be rewarded for their years of service to Ramapo athletics.

Also among those in attendance were Ramapo President Cindy Jebb, Vice President for Strategic Enrollment, Outreach & Engagement Christopher Romano and Director of Athletics Jan Koslowsky. 

Prior to the individual inductions, Jebb gave opening remarks where she congratulated each athlete and coach, and spoke to the success of the athletics department. 

“This team set a new standard and precedent for achievement in Ramapo history

– Ben Allen, coach of ’03 Ramapo softball team

“It requires a team to not just ensure success at the individual level, or at the team level,” she said. “It takes a team to ensure success at the program level, and that is where the legacy lies.”

Following Jebb, Romano went to the podium to call up the Hall of Famers and the individual they chose to introduce them. The first inductee of the night was Iwaskiw, who was introduced by her father Bo.

Iwaskiw was a four-year member of the women’s volleyball team from 2015-18 and a three-time All-America team member. Throughout her time as a Roadrunner, Iwaskiw racked up 91 wins, led the team in kills and led the team to their first ever NCAA appearance in 2016.

“I’m honored to be the first female volleyball player in the [Ramapo] Hall of Fame,” Iwaskiw said. “I stand here today filled with immense gratitude and humility knowing that this is not just a recognition of my achievements, but a celebration of [everyone] who helped me.”

Next to the podium was Jackson, who was a seven-time New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Coach of the Year for track and field and led the women’s team to their first ever NJAC Indoor Championship in 2012. Jackson, who coached the team for 15 years, was introduced by his father, Gregory.

“I’d like to thank God for blessing me, the Hall of Fame for choosing me and the Ramapo College community, family and friends for being here on such a momentous day,” Jackson said. “We were the laughing stock of the athletics on campus when I arrived and also in the basement of our conference, but that changed quickly.”

The third member of the evening to be introduced was Larson, who was a four-year starter for the baseball team. To this day, Larson remains the only player in school history to be named NJAC Pitcher of the Year. Throughout his time at Ramapo, Larson amassed a 2.85 ERA and a 19-9 record. Larson now serves as the pitching coach for Ramapo’s baseball team and was introduced by his former teammate and current head coach Ryan Rinsky.

“Ramapo was the best four years of my life,” Larson said. “It’s incredibly humbling to receive this honor, and I’m so thankful to so many people.”

After Larson, the next induction was of Milligan, who was a four-year member of the men’s basketball team. Milligan led the Roadrunners to an 81-31 record throughout his time at Ramapo, and advanced the program to their second ever Elite Eight appearance. He was a two-time NJAC All-Conference honoree and posted the winningest in program history in his junior year at 26-4.

Milligan could not attend the ceremony due to family matters, but the head coach of the men’s basketball team, Chuck McBreen, went to the podium to speak about his former player. 

“Jared was a winner… we don’t do what we did without him. He’s so deserving, I’m incredibly happy for him,” McBreen said. 

The next athlete to be honored was Rogers, who was a nine-time All-American under coach Jackson on the track and field team. Rogers led the team to their only NJAC Indoor Track and Field Championship and holds multiple NJAC records. 

Anita Rogers had her head coach Mike Jackson introduce her on Friday

She also holds the fourth-best mark in the outdoor long jump in NCAA Division III history and the seventh best mark in the triple jump. Rogers chose to be introduced by Jackson.

“I’m truly honored, deeply appreciative and forever thankful for this honor,” Rogers said.

Throughout her speech, Rogers thanked Jackson for his influence on her life, saying “Mike played a vital role in my track and field career… Although his title was head coach, I considered him being more of a personal coach, mentor and friend.”

Scantlebury was the next inductee to be honored. He was a cornerback for Ramapo’s football team from 1977-80. In his first season for Ramapo, Scantlebury was named a First Team All-American by the National Collegiate Football Association (NCFA).

He was named team captain in 1978 and led the program to a NCFA Championship win. Scantlebury was introduced by his grandson, Danny Banks.

“Initially, I was feeling some sort of way, because to be honest with you, I thought it took too long. I wanted to celebrate with the people I played with and played for,” Scantlebury said. “However, if I had received this honor before now, I would not have been able to share this moment with my brother, wife, and most importantly, my grandson.”

At the end of his speech, Scantlebury looked at Jebb and implored her and the athletics department to consider bringing back the football program. 

“I’d like to thank God for blessing me, the Hall of Fame for choosing me and the Ramapo College community, family and friends for being here on such a momentous day

– Mike Jackson, Ramapo Hall of Fame class of 2024

The final individual inductee of the evening was Siben, who began a career at Ramapo in 1977. Siben is known for playing an integral role in Ramapo’s hockey program, where his duties included coaching, recruitment and equipment management. He was introduced by fellow ice hockey team member Artie Chill.

“Every moment of my involvement with Roadrunner hockey was a treasured memory,” Siben said. “Every honoree here can say that about his or her experience with a Ramapo team, which is another reason Ramapo is so special.”

The last induction of the night was for the ‘03 softball team, who went 18-0 in NJAC play — the first team of any sport to do that in Ramapo history. They went 33-7 overall and earned the program’s first ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

Seven players from the team earned All-NJAC honors, and head coach Ben Allen was named NJAC Coach of the Year. Allen had the honor of introducing the team on stage.

“This team set a new standard and precedent for achievement in Ramapo history,” Allen said. 

The ceremony ended with Romano going on stage to congratulate the honorees once more. 

“Those who have been inducted tonight stand as giants in Roadrunner history,” Romano said. “Your contribution to the quality of athletic programming is long woven into the fabric of Ramapo College. Tonight, you are officially recognized.”




Featured photo by William Jackson